First Aid Training Put To Use

Several years ago I took a Level 3 Occupational First Aid course but due to circumstances beyond my control I was unable to write the exam and get certified. However, the course was excellent training and today it was put to the test.

I was first on the scene of a motorcycle accident : The motorcycle t-boned a car and the driver was catapulted and cartwheeled through the air and landed in the middle of the street about 30ft away.   I was parked at the intersection with a front row seat.  I immediately jumped out of my car, repeated yelled for someone to call 911, and ran to the victim in the middle of the street where I quickly assessed he his condition; he was breathing and there were no bleeding wounds  so I administered C-spine until the paramedics arrived to relieve me. The victim was conscious and lucid at all times but had sustained an obvious leg injury and continuously complained about the pain in his leg- hopefully that will be the worst of it.

So be prepared, take a first aid course because you never know when you can mean the difference between life and death!

This is a picture of the crash scene. My red car is visible at the intersection.

~ by The Bob Show on July 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
